Cover image for Parallel
Title:
Parallel
ISBN:
9780062199775
Edition:
1st ed.
Publication Information:
New York : HarperTeen, c2013.
Physical Description:
423 p, ; 22 cm.
Summary:
"A collision of parallel universes leaves 18-year-old Abby Barnes living in a new version of her life every day, and she must race to control her destiny without losing the future she planned and the boy she loves"--Provided by publisher.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Status
Searching...
Teen Fiction Mille
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A romantic, mind-bending novel about parallel worlds, soul mates, destiny, and the big-time consequences of even our smallest choices, perfect for fans of The Future of Us and Before I Fall.

Abby Barnes had it all planned out--high school, college, career--but one decision made in her senior year of high school changed her carefully mapped-out future.

When Abby wakes up the morning of her eighteenth birthday, it's as though her past has been rewritten. Abby discovers that a cosmic collision of parallel universes has erased her old reality. Now Abby is falling in love with a boy from her Parallel's memories--a boy she's never even met. She's living the life she always wanted, but what if living her Parallel's life means she loses her soul mate?


Reviews 3

Publisher's Weekly Review

When Miller's debut novel opens, Abby Barnes has put off college to star in a Hollywood blockbuster alongside an A-list movie star. On the night before Abby's 18th birthday, two parallel worlds collide, and Abby wakes up as another version of herself, one attending Yale with her best friend Caitlin, but who still has memories of her "other" life. In addition to this dimensional shift, Miller also shunts readers between Abby's life at Yale and her senior year of high school, unpacking the altered events that led to her Ivy League future in this universe. Each chapter opens with a datestamp, which should help readers feel (a bit) less lost than Abby, as she tries to understand her condition with help from a Nobel-winning physicist, while more anomalies pile up. While each chapter provides a compelling excerpt from Abby's life and shows off Miller's storytelling skills, strung together they don't create an entirely coherent narrative. Readers will likely find themselves flipping back and forth and rereading passages, trying to keep up with the unfolding changes in Abby's life. Ages 13-up. Agent: Kristyn Keene, ICM. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Horn Book Review

Abby, an L.A. actress, wakes up on her eighteenth birthday to discover she's now a student at Yale. The reason? Two universes collided. As Abby's parallel self, living a year behind her, makes different decisions than Abby did, Abby's present reality changes. This mind-bending debut uniquely illustrates the consequences resulting from small choices--and includes a dreamy love story, too. (c) Copyright 2013. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Booklist Review

Abby never expected to be starring in a Hollywood blockbuster and dating a leading man on the night before her eighteenth birthday. She had always planned on a different path, one that included college. Well, she gets her wish: she wakes up in a dorm room at Yale, where it appears she has been for weeks. With the assistance of her friend Caitlin's knowledge of parallel universe theory, and a helpful professor, Abby soon realizes that a cosmic shift has taken place. The narrative shuttles back and forth in both time and location between Abby and her parallel, leading Abby to discover that the smallest decisions can lead to drastically different paths. While the narrative jumps take some getting used to, Miller ably depicts Abby at different points on her journey, with complex side characters and a cleverly nuanced romantic triangle. Adding questions of quantum mechanics, predestination, and soul mates to the day-to-day friendship, family, and boyfriend issues firmly situates this debut next to Cat Patrick's books or Lauren Oliver's Before I Fall (2010).--Booth, Heather Copyright 2010 Booklist