Cover image for Devils & thieves
Title:
Devils & thieves
ISBN:
9780316390897
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Little, Brown and Company, 2017.

©2017
Physical Description:
328 pages ; 22 cm.
Summary:
In Jemmie Carmichael's Hawthorne, New York, magic users are called "kindled," and Jemmie would count herself among them if only she could cast a simple spell without completely falling apart. And she's been snubbed by Crowe, the dangerous and enigmatic leader of the Black Devils kindled motorcycle gang and the unofficial head of their turf. During an annual festival, a rumor begins spreading that someone is practicing forbidden magic. Then people start to go missing. Jemmie and Crowe will have to put aside their tumultuous history to find their loved ones. And the only thing that might save them is the very flaw that keeps Jemmie from fully harnessing her magic.
Series Title:
Series Sequence:
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Status
Searching...
Teen Fiction Rush
Searching...
Searching...
Teen Fiction Rush
Searching...
Searching...
Teen Fiction Rush
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A thrilling new urban fantasy filled with magic and motorcycles from Jennifer Rush, author of the Altered saga--perfect for fans of Beautiful Creatures .
Eighteen-year-old Jemmie Carmichael is surrounded by magic in the quiet town of Hawthorne, New York. In her world, magic users are called "kindled," and Jemmie would count herself among them if only she could cast a simple spell without completely falling apart. To make matters worse, she was recently snubbed by Crowe-the dangerous and enigmatic leader of Hawthorne's kindled motorcycle gang, the Devils' League.

When the entire kindled community rolls into Hawthorne for an annual festival, a rumor spreads that someone is practicing forbidden magic. Then people start to go missing. With threats closing in from every side, no one can be trusted. Jemmie and Crowe will have to put aside their tumultuous history to find their loved ones, and the only thing that might save them is the very flaw that keeps Jemmie from fully harnessing her abilities. For all her years of feeling useless, Jemmie may just be the most powerful kindled of all.

Sexy and suspenseful, Devils and Thieves delivers on the bewitching combination of magic and motorcycle gangs.


Author Notes

Jennifer Rush is the author of Devils & Thieves and the Altered Saga. She currently lives in Michigan with her family, where the winters make her grumpy and the summers make her forget the winters. When not writing, she can be found curled up with a good book or out wandering, either by foot or by car. She dreams of seeing the world someday (as long as it's not winter).


Reviews 3

School Library Journal Review

Gr 8 Up-"Harry Potter" meets Sons of Anarchy in this fun but flawed fantasy thriller. Jemmie Carmichael is a product of the fast-living, hard-drinking universe of "the kindled," people with magical powers who revolve around disparate motorcycle gangs. Though she's got an in with the powerful Medici clan and their Black Devils crew, she has always felt like an outsider because of the strange way she experiences her world. Out of fear, she tamps down her magic until an annual kindled reunion, where tension between the Black Devils and a rival gang, the Deathstalkers, flares explosively. Though the visceral description of Jemmie's relationship with magic is thrilling and the biker theme feels fresh, the plot has several notable weak spots. First, there's the romance: Jemmie's relationship with a Deathstalker prospect, one side of the core love triangle, never creates enough tension. Also, the idea of a girl getting sick from her unused powers has been employed before and more powerfully in Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone. Readers have to work pretty hard to keep track of a too-packed cast, each character overflowing with many different magical abilities. Aside from the glaring problems, Rush still manages to weave a compelling sensual tapestry around a crew of gorgeous, Jack Daniels-swilling magicians, making this a darkly charged page-turner for older fantasy fans. -VERDICT Purchase where -Bardugo and Holly Black fantasies are popular.-Sara Scribner, -Marshall Fundamental School, Pasadena, CA © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Horn Book Review

During an annual festival for "kindled" (magical) folk, people from eighteen-year-old Jemmie Carmichael's kindled motorcycle gang start going missing, and Jemmie must learn to harness her sensitivity to magic to save them. Although magic-wielding biker thugs make for an interesting and fresh take on the familiar fantasy elements, execution of this premise becomes lackluster as the novel goes on for too long. (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Jemmie senses colors and scents when other kindled magic users cast spells, making her life among them a living hell. She assumes she's a failure at magic, allergic to something she loves much like her long-dead romance with Crowe Medici, leader of the Black Devils, a kindled motorcycle gang. Making things worse is her budding relationship with rival club member Darek, which she's just barely keeping secret. When Crowe reveals that Darek's club, the Deathstalkers, had something to do with his father's death at the previous year's annual festival, Jemmie's life is made infinitely more confusing. Her father, who ran away years before, is also in town for the big event, and the animosity she still feels at being abandoned is palpable. While trying to manage everything, including her own secrets, Jemmie will also try to solve the mystery of the past gang leader's death without sparking a massive gangland war. Rush has given a lot of thought to her world building here, and the result is a fascinating new world where magic and crime intersect. Urban fantasy is hard to get just right in YA, but she succeeds completely. Teen readers will find a lot to love about Jemmie's complicated life, and they will definitely leave wanting more.--Comfort, Stacey Copyright 2017 Booklist