Cover image for Sawkill Girls
Title:
Sawkill Girls
ISBN:
9780062696601
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]
Physical Description:
447 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
"Who are the Sawkill Girls? Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she's sure she'll never find. Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she's broken--or maybe everyone else is. Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies. Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight...until now."--From publisher website.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Status
Searching...
Teen Fiction Legra
Searching...
Searching...
Teen Fiction Legra
Searching...
Searching...
Teen Fiction Legra
Searching...
Searching...
Teen Fiction Legra
Searching...
Searching...
Teen Fiction Legra
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power." --Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth

"An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength." --Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species

FIVE STARRED REVIEWS

NAMED ONE OF YALSA'S 2019 BEST FICTION FOR YOUNG ADULTS

A BRAM STOKER AWARD NOMINEE

A LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD NOMINEE

From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.

Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she's sure she'll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she's broken--or maybe everyone else is.

Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight...until now.


Reviews 3

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Girls have gone missing on Sawkill Island for so long that the wealthy residents have learned to carry on with a stiff upper lip when it happens. As the disappearances ramp up, three local girls with close ties to the missing young women, and varying degrees of intimacy with a sinister presence on the island, start to take action. Prickly Zoey and dreamy Marion have had loved ones disappear, and their investigations lead to queen bee Val, whose family is involved in a dark cycle she can't seem to break. Legrand's lush and pensive prose matches the murky, dangerous, and beautiful island setting, and shifting perspective among the three protagonists keeps things clipping along. When the truth of what's terrorizing the island gets out in the open, things move from a shadowy mystery to a full-on war between good and evil, with three strong teens at the center. Val's story is especially well done, unspeakably creepy and hopeless, with a spark at the center that will keep readers rooting for her. Several queer relationships lift this otherwise dark, loamy horror story into the light. -VERDICT Rich and earthy horror for readers who wanted Laura Ruby's Bone Gap to be a little scarier make this an essential purchase.-Beth McIntyre, Madison Public Library, WI © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

An idyllic island hides a deadly secret in this atmospheric, Gothic-flavored chiller, which mingles elements of dark fairy tales and outright horror. Sawkill Rock is home to lush forests, rocky cliffs, marvelous horses, and the Mortimer women, who have lived there for generations. Marion Althouse, 16, recently lost her father and has just arrived on the island with her older sister, Charlotte, and their mother. Marion soon befriends the police chief's daughter, Zoey Harlow, and, to Zoey's chagrin, seems to be getting close to the beautiful schemer Val Mortimer, matriarch Lucy's daughter. When Charlotte goes missing, Marion discovers that 23 girls have disappeared in the past century and a half, including Zoey's best friend. It seems that something inhuman lives in Sawkill Rock's dense woods, immortalized in the grisly urban legend of the Collector, and the young women, each with an extraordinary emerging power, may be able to vanquish it- if they don't destroy each other first. Sure to win Legrand (Winterspell) plenty of new fans, this tale, which includes an asexual character and a beautifully wrought queer romance, focuses on the power of female friendship and what it means to pit women against one another in fiction and in life. Ages 14-up. Agent: Victoria Marini, Irene Goodman Agency. (Oct.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Booklist Review

*Starred Review* On Sawkill Rock, girls disappear. Not that many, and it's not that strange; the island, with its slick cliffs and dark waters, can be treacherous. Still, the people of Sawkill tell campfire stories about a hungry monster a monster that, for three girls, is about to become sharply real. Marion arrives on Sawkill Rock grieving her father's death. Plain, reliable Marion holds what's left of her family together, but when her sister vanishes, Marion begins hearing ominous warnings. Zoey's police-chief father has been unable to find Sawkill's missing girls, and Zoey's been obsessed ever since her best friend disappeared seven months ago. When the disappearances accelerate, Zoey starts to dig, unearthing more than she believed possible. Then there are the Mortimer women: Sawkill royalty who raise prizewinning horses. They are beautiful and influential, and Val is no exception. But the Mortimer women harbor a dark power, and as it grows stronger, Val must decide if she's going to give in to it or fight. Through this dank, atmospheric, and genuinely frightening narrative, Legrand weaves powerful threads about the dangerous journey of growing up female. In a world where monsters linger at the edges, this is an intensely character-driven story about girls who support each other, girls who betray each other, and girls who love each other in many complicated ways. Strange, eerie, and unforgettable.--Reagan, Maggie Copyright 2010 Booklist