Cover image for Opposite of always
Title:
Opposite of always
ISBN:
9780062748379
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2019]
Physical Description:
457 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
After falling for Kate, her unexpected death sends Jack back in time to the moment they first met. He soon learns that his actions have consequences when someone else close to him dies.

Jack and Kate met, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks. Jack falls-- hard. But then Kate dies. Somehow Kate's death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate's there again. Healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack thinks he's losing his mind-- but takes the chance to prevent Kate's death. He learns actions are not without consequences when it turns deadly for someone else close to him. Now Jack has to figure out what he’s willing to do to save the people he loves.-- adapted from jacket
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Status
Searching...
Teen Fiction Reyno
Searching...
Searching...
Teen Fiction Reyno
Searching...
Searching...
Teen Fiction Reyno
Searching...
Searching...
Teen Fiction Reyno
Searching...
Searching...
Teen Fiction Reyno
Searching...

On Order

Library
Copy
Status
Parts
Farmington1On Order
Hastings (Pleasant Hill)1On Order
Inver Grove Heights (Inver Glen)1On Order

Summary

Summary

"One of the best love stories I've ever read." --Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give

"Read this one, reread it, and then hug it to your chest." --Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Debut author Justin A. Reynolds delivers a hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose, and the moments that make a life worth reliving. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and John Green.

When Jack and Kate meet at a party, bonding until sunrise over their mutual love of Froot Loops and their favorite flicks, Jack knows he's falling--hard. Soon she's meeting his best friends, Jillian and Franny, and Kate wins them over as easily as she did Jack.

But then Kate dies. And their story should end there.

Yet Kate's death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate's there again. Healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack isn't sure if he's losing his mind.

Still, if he has a chance to prevent Kate's death, he'll take it. Even if that means believing in time travel. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. And when one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he's willing to do to save the people he loves.


Reviews 4

School Library Journal Review

Gr 8 Up-Jack King is the King of "almost" with a slew of unfinished projects under his belt. He's almost athletic, almost a rock star, almost at everything. He is sitting on the stairs at a college party staring at his best friend and unrequited love interest Jillian, when he meets Kate. These two teens forge a bond over the love of cereal, bad dance moves, and nerdy movies. Jack becomes the Cap'n to Kate's Crunch until Kate is a no-show at Jack's high school prom. Jack survives the heartbreak through the efforts of Jillian and his other best friend Franny "Francisco," Jillian's boyfriend. Jack learns that Kate has sickle cell anemia and was in the hospital during prom. While at the hospital, Kate tells Jack about a doctor who has some promising experimental trials, but the treatment is expensive. Jack goes home to rest only to be awakened by a phone call from Kate's mother telling him that Kate has died. He's headed to his car when falls down the stairs and wakes up back at the college party where he first met Kate. Jake's life now cyclically reboots as he attempts to save Kate and maintain his friendships. This is a love story about friendship with a "choose your own adventure" twist. The humor in this story will keep readers engaged. Any teen who's ever wanted a do-over will enjoy reading this story. VERDICT A great title for public and school libraries seeking excellent realistic fiction with a twist.-Desiree Thomas, Worthington Library, OH © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publisher's Weekly Review

Ask African-American high school senior Jack who he is and he'll tell you: he's an only child, and the king of "nice try" and "almost." Unlike his best friend Franny, he never makes the team. And he doesn't get the girl because he's in love with his other best friend, Jillian, who's dating Franny. But Jack does learn from his mistakes, and he has lots of opportunities to try again when he finds himself in a time loop. It starts when his first girlfriend-who is already in college and into him despite his corniness-dies of sickle cell anemia, which Jack didn't know she had. He plummets into a do-over, and then another, but for everyone else, it's always the first time. Watching Jack scheme to save Kate at any cost, including ignoring his friends, betraying Franny, gambling, and lying, is both touching and worrying for the reader. Though Kate feels a little too perfect and Reynolds, an #OwnVoices debut author, occasionally hits the message (about loving people while they're around) a little hard, he also creates an enormously likable character who is doing the best he can and then some. Happily, the book's blend of humor and heartbreak wins out. Ages 14-up. Agent: Beth Phelan, Gallt Zacker Literary Agency; rights, the Bent Agency. (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Horn Book Review

From the opening sentenceMy face is mashed sideways against the trunk of a police cruiser when Kate dies for the third timewe know that this time-bending (think Groundhog Day) contemporary-set love story will be out of the ordinary. Jack Ellison King (named after Jackie Robinson and Ralph Ellison), a bright, witty high school senior, meets college freshman Kate at a party and falls head-over-heels in love with her. What should be a happy occasion is fraught with the unexpected as his longtime best friend (and sometime-crush), Jillian, starts acting strangely around him and he discovers that Kate is keeping a secret. Then, at what should be the highlight of his yearsenior promthe unthinkable happens. Kate dies of complications from sickle cell disease, and Jack begins to travel back in time over and over trying to save her. Jack is an everyday hero readers will root for in a story that emphasizes how messy and complicated growing up can be while blurring the lines between life and death, dreams and reality. Reynolds spins a poignant, dizzying tale of love and loss in this page-turning time-travel fantasy. monique harris March/April 2019 p 88(c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Reynolds' snappy, dialogue-driven debut is a coming-of-age story with a time traveling twist. High-school senior Jack King meets Kate extra cute at a party while he's visiting her college, and their chemistry is undeniable. But Kate's ill, and their romance is heartbreakingly short-lived. Her death, however, sends Jack back in time to the moment they first meet, and every time he fails to save her, he returns to that moment again, getting another chance at love and, in the process, learning valuable things about himself. But sometimes trying to save Kate ruins something else in his life, and each trip back becomes a careful balancing act. Though the plot builds a little slowly at first, when Reynolds hits his stride, this charming, wry novel packed with witty, crackling banter is propulsively readable. Reynolds imbues his diverse cast of characters with rich, dynamic personalities. Jack is particularly multifaceted: this nerdy, awkward black teen resists any easy categorization, and in his witty first-person narrative, readers see him gain even more depth and nuance with each new loop into the past. Kate, too, comes through as a well-rounded character, and it's a joy to watch their romance play out. There are some big questions about choice, consequences, loyalty, and love in this novel, and Reynolds beautifully complements those heavy concerns with the sweet, funny, and genuine voice of his protagonist.--Qurratulayn Muhammad Copyright 2018 Booklist