Cover image for The story orchestra : the sleeping beauty
The story orchestra : the sleeping beauty
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
London : Frances Lincoln Children's Books, 2018.
Physical Description:
20 unnumbered pages : coloured illustrations.
General Note:
On back cover: Press the note on every page to hear the story come to life with music from Tchaikovsky's The Sleeping beauty.
"In this retelling of the classic ballet story, bring Tchaikovsky's Sleeping Beauty to life by pressing the musical notes on each page. Join the King and Queen as they throw a party for their new baby, Princess Aurora. But when a terrible guest arrives and places a curse on princess, the whole kingdom will have to come together to defeat it... Read the story and then turn to the back of the book to read about the music clips." --Publisher description.
Series Title:
Series Sequence:


Material Type
Call Number
Children's Book 398.2 COURT

On Order



Guardian: 'a lively retelling, enriched by Jessica Courtney Tickle's luscious illustrations - each spread is like an illuminated garden'

A stunning retelling of the classic ballet story brought to life by music! Set to the sound of Tchaikovsky's original music, this favorite ballet story features a a musical note to press on each spread. Join the King and Queen as they throw a party for their new baby, Princess Aurora. But when a terrible guest arrives and places a curse on princess, the kingdom must find the one special person who can defeat it...

Read the story, listen to accompanying music, then turn to the back of the book to find out more about the Tchaikovsky musical clips in this stunning gift book.

Manufacturer's note: please pull the white tab out of the back of the book before use. Sound buttons require a firm push in exact location to work, which may be hard for young children. All sound clips are 10 seconds long.

Author Notes

JESSICA COURTNEY-TICKLE is an illustrator who graduated from Kingston University in July 2014. Her absolute favourite thing to draw or paint is nature, finding a focus on foliage of any kind as well as children's stories about adventure and exploration. She also has a penchant for drawing theatre from music makers to dancers and even singing animals. Jessica is most influenced by vintage picture books, travel posters and folk art as well as numerous painters and printmakers.

KATY FLINT is a children's book author and editor, based in London. She is the author of the best-selling sound book The Story Orchestra: The Nutcracker, and has worked on many other non-fiction titles - from human bodies to dinosaurs. She likes playing the violin and dog-spotting.

Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

In the third musical book from the Story Orchestra series, Tchaikovsky's The Sleeping Beauty unfolds in broad, richly detailed scenes. Included in each are sound buttons that, when pressed, play 10-second clips from the ballet. The story opens with the queen and king-a mixed-race couple-presenting baby Princess Aurora at a party. Palace scenes show the arrival of the Lilac Fairy and fairy godmothers wearing fluttery, jewel-toned dresses. Soon, the evil fairy Carabosse appears with a sinister posse of crows and creeping black vines. Flint's vivid writing captures the story's whimsy and darkness: "Chandeliers shatter as she storms across the ballroom." The storytelling is engaging even without the musical feature, but readers will relish the sound of Tchaikovsky's stirring composition. Ages 4-7. (Oct.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.