Cover image for Josephine Baker's last dance
Title:
Josephine Baker's last dance
ISBN:
9781501102448
Personal Author:
Edition:
First Gallery Books trade paperback edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Gallery Books, 2018.

©2018
Physical Description:
365 pages ; 21 cm
Summary:
"From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures. Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker--actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world--in Josephine Baker's Last Dance. In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones spans Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, to her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, to her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page. With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today"-- Provided by publisher.

From servitude and poverty in America, Josephine Baker rose to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt. Along the way she was a Civil Rights activist-- and a member of the French Resistance during WWII. This novel follows Baker from 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance. -- adapted from publisher info.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Status
Searching...
Book Fiction Jones
Searching...
Searching...
Book Fiction Jones
Searching...
Searching...
Book Fiction Jones
Searching...
Searching...
Book Fiction Jones
Searching...
Searching...
Book Fiction Jones
Searching...
Searching...
Book Fiction Jones
Searching...
Searching...
Book Fiction Jones
Searching...
Searching...
Book Fiction Jones
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

From the author of The Jewel of Medina , a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.

Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker--actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world--in Josephine Baker's Last Dance .

In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page.

With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Born into poverty in St. Louis in 1906, Josephine Baker quickly escapes her abusive family, the racism of Jim Crow-era America, and a couple of early marriages, and by the age of 16, she is performing in the clubs of Paris. She dances her way to the pinnacle of French entertainment and dances her way through a series of lovers and marriages before turning her attention to more somber matters, first as a spy in the French Resistance and later as an activist in the civil rights movement. Baker's later years are glossed over before the novel culminates in her final dance before her death, in 1975. Although Jones' uneven pacing results in some underdeveloped secondary characters and subplots, any weakness in the writing is saved by Jones' thorough research and the sheer power of Baker's story, and the result is an entertaining portrait of a groundbreaking woman. Hand this to fans of Paula McLain's The Paris Wife (2011), Liza Klaussman's Villa America (2015), and other tales of Jazz Age artists.--Martha Waters Copyright 2018 Booklist


Library Journal Review

This fictionalized biography of Josephine Baker (1906-75), told in the first person, adds plausible private reflections, inside motivations, and secret reactions to the well-known facts of her life. Always believing in herself despite the odds, Josephine rose above her heartbreaking childhood in St. Louis to find not only acceptance but adulation in Paris. She used her prominence, intelligence, and survival skills during World War II as an agent of the French Resistance and later to influence integration in the United States. A courageous woman always, Baker chose optimism over despair and action over passivity. Adenrele Ojo portrays via adroit modulation and pacing the pathos of the youthful woman as well as her determination to succeed. As Josephine matures, Ojo's pitch deepens to depict the self--confidence and sophistication of a woman in her prime. VERDICT Recommended for historical fiction fans and those with an interest in Baker.--Juleigh Muirhead Clark, -Williamsburg, VA © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.