Cover image for Half of what you hear
Title:
Half of what you hear
ISBN:
9780062673350
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Harper, [2019]

©2019
Physical Description:
350 pages, 13 pages ; 21 cm
General Note:
Includes P.S.: Insights, interviews & more ...
Summary:
Greyhill, Virginia is a refuge of old money, old mansions, and old-fashioned ideas about who belongs and who doesn't. When Bess Warner arrives in town with her husband Cole and their kids, they'll be living across from his mother, and taking over the family's inn-keeping business. Bess lost her White House job under a cloud of scandal. She gets an opportunity to write an article for the Washington Post's lifestyle supplement, interviewing Susannah 'Cricket; Lane, who just returned to Greyhill from New York after a decades-long hiatus. As Susannah manipulates the interview sessions, Bess discovers unsettling truths about Susannah and Greyhill. -- adapted from back cover
Geographic Term:
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Status
Searching...
Book Fiction Lewis
Searching...
Searching...
Book Fiction Lewis
Searching...
Searching...
Book Fiction Lewis
Searching...
Searching...
Book Fiction Lewis
Searching...
Searching...
Book Fiction Lewis
Searching...
Searching...
Book Fiction Lewis
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies." -Kirkus

7 December Books You'll Tear Through Faster Than the Wrapping On Your Holiday Gifts, InStyle

8 Books We Can't Wait to Read in December, PureWow

8 Unbelievable Books to Read December 2018, Women.com

From well-loved women's fiction writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis comes a breakout novel about a woman moving to a small community and uncovering the many secrets that hide behind closed doors--perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Elin Hilderbrand.

Greyhill, Virginia--refuge of old money, old mansions, and old-fashioned ideas about who belongs and who doesn't--just got a few new residents. When Bess Warner arrives in town with her husband Cole and their kids, she thinks she knows what to expect. Sure, moving to Cole's small hometown means she'll have to live across the street from her mother-in-law, and yes, there's going to be a lot to learn as they take over Cole's family's inn-keeping business, but Bess believes it will be the perfect escape from Washington. She needs it to be. After losing her White House job under a cloud of scandal, she hardly knows who she is anymore.

But Bess quickly discovers that fitting in is easier said than done. Instead of the simpler life she'd banked on, she finds herself preoccupied by barbed questions from gossipy locals and her own worries over how her twins are acclimating at the town's elite private school. When the opportunity to write an article for the Washington Post's lifestyle supplement falls into Bess's lap, she thinks it might finally be her opportunity to find her footing here...even if the subject of the piece is Greyhill's most notorious resident.

Susannah "Cricket" Lane, fruit of the town's deepest-rooted family tree, is a special sort of outsider, having just returned to Greyhill from New York after a decades-long hiatus. The long absence has always been the subject of suspicion, not that the eccentric Susannah cares what anyone thinks; as a matter of fact, she seems bent on antagonizing as many people as possible. But is Susannah being sincere with Bess--or is she using their strangely intense interview sessions for her to further an agenda that includes peeling back the layers of Greyhill's darkest secrets?

As Bess discovers unsettling truths about Susannah and Greyhill at large, ones that bring her into the secrets of prior generations, she begins to learn how difficult it is to start over in a town that runs on talk, and that sometimes, the best way to find yourself is to uncover what everyone around you is hiding....


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Bess Warner was a Washington insider until a scandal destroyed her career. Now Bess and her husband, Cole, have relocated to small-town Greyhill, Virginia, to take over the inn that Cole's family has run for decades. It's a dramatic change of pace, and the locals make sure that Bess is abundantly aware of her status as an outsider. Coping with the mother-in-law from hell, her teenage children's growing pains, and a cadre of petty locals including Cole's ex makes her first months in town a challenge. When a contact from Washington offers Bess an assignment profiling Susannah Lane, an eccentric local who returned to Greyhill after her husband's death, Bess jumps at the chance. The two become fast friends, sharing their status as Greyhill's most gossiped-about women. But as Susannah opens up to Bess about her past, Bess is forced to confront uncomfortable truths about her new hometown and its residents including her kindly father-in-law. The ending is neatly constructed, with satisfying redemption for all. Fans of Emily Giffin and Sally Hepworth will appreciate this enjoyable family drama featuring likable characters in challenging situations.--Nanette Donohue Copyright 2018 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Lewis's third novel (Save Me; How Lucky You Are) is an enjoyable albeit somewhat predictable read. Bess Warner and her family have recently relocated to her husband Cole's idyllic childhood home from the hustle of Washington, DC. Still nursing a bruised ego after being fired from her job at the White House, Bess struggles to adjust to life in Greyhill, VA. When she lands an assignment from the Washington Post to interview the town's most colorful character, Susannah "Cricket" Lane, Bess uncovers more than she expected about the town and herself. In spite of the buildup, the mystery surrounding Susannah falls a little flat. However, Lewis does a good job of developing an intriguing cast and keeps the story moving along at a good clip. VERDICT Not many surprises here but an entertaining read with well-placed social commentary. Recommend to fans of Emily Giffin and Sarah Jio.-Sarah Stimson, Mission Viejo Lib., CA © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.