Cover image for Lunar blitz
Title:
Lunar blitz
ISBN:
9780062802668
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2019]
Physical Description:
314 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
General Note:
Ages 8-12.
Summary:
Enter the exhilarating game of Ultraball: fly over pass rushers and explode into slingshot zones, through Jeff Chen's dazzling future world on the moon. Here Ultraball is life, and survival is all that matters. Perfect for sci-fi and sports fans alike.
Geographic Term:
Series Title:
Series Sequence:
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Material Type
Call Number
Status
Searching...
Children's Book CHEN
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Enter the exhilarating game of Ultraball--fly over pass rushers and explode into slingshot zones--through Jeff Chen's dazzling future world on the moon. Here Ultraball is life, and survival is all that matters. Perfect for sci-fi and sports fans alike.

Strike Sazaki loves defying gravity on the moon in his Ultrabot suit. He's the best quarterback in the league, but while Strike's led the Taiko Miners to the Ultrabowl three years in a row, each one has ended in defeat.

This year, Strike thinks he's finally found the missing piece to his championship quest: a mysterious girl who could be his new star rocketback. But Boom comes from the Dark Siders, a mass of people who left the United Moon Colonies to live in exile. And not all his teammates are happy sharing a field with her.

When rumors surface of a traitor on the Miners, Strike isn't sure who he can trust. If Strike can't get his teammates to cooperate and play together, they'll lose more than just the Ultrabowl. The stake of the colony's future is on his shoulders.


Reviews 2

School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-7-In the year 2352, Earth has fallen from nuclear disaster and the United Moon Colonies are what's left of humanity. Ultraball, a sport similar to football involving child-players in high-tech space suits, is the main source of entertainment on the moon. Strike, the quarterback for the Taiko Miners, has a lot at stake. He must win the Ultrabowl for his colony or risk the colony's possible extinction. When a mysterious Dark Sider, a non-colonist who lives on the dark side of the moon, tries out for the team and offers to help them win the Ultrabowl, Strike must decide whether his new teammate can be trusted. Part science fiction, part sports story, Chen's novel portrays a dystopian world where not all colonies are equal and some are run in a police state. The backstory about what happened on Earth and the history of the political climate of the Moon are left unanswered. Fart jokes and cheesy banter makes this well suited for a middle school audience. The ending sets up the premise for the next book in the -series. VERDICT Consider for sports fans who like their action with a sci-fi twist.--Ashley Leffel, Griffin Middle School, Frisco, TX © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Booklist Review

Heartbroken after his best friend was paid off to throw their championship game, the Taiko Miners' Ultraball (read: space football) captain Shinzo Strike Sazaki sets out to find a new player. He can't help but recruit Boom, despite the fact that she's from a reclusive society none of the United Colonies trusts she's too good at the game to pass up. If she's not the traitor rumors suggest she is, she's their only shot at winning, and this season the stakes are higher than ever: a bet hangs in the balance that could secure the well-being of the impoverished Taiko colony or doom them all. In between the fart jokes and extended play-by-plays, Chen's debut also delivers a smart and subtle exploration of socioeconomic inequality. Sf and sports readers alike will enjoy the futuristic dystopia Chen has created and the relatable cast of kids trying to save it. Fans of Mike Lupica, Dan Gutman, and Tim Green looking to get their feet wet in sf should be directed to this series opener.--Eleanor Roth Copyright 2018 Booklist